Dubai


Word of the Day: Celebrate


It seems like everyone is celebrating Christmas, New Years and birthdays (mine is soon) with family and close friends so it’s hard not to miss home. Also, it’s easy to forget to celebrate, especially with our work schedule here. Sometimes I feel like I’m drowning in the hours my coworkers and I are putting in to this project. That’s why the word of the day is celebrate. I realized that just because I’m not celebrating big days with loved ones doesn’t mean I can’t celebrate life in general. Despite the lack of sleep I’ve been getting recently there are so many little victories that happen along the way. If I add those accomplishments to the holiday’s it feels like I should be celebrating something 90% of the time. And I learned that celebrating doesn’t always mean ‘doing it big’ but can be anything out of the ordinary.

A few coworkers and I decided to spend our Christmas holiday (2 Days) in Dubai! We had so much fun and definitely kept busy. On the 24th we went the Mall of Emirate where we got our ski tickets squared away for the 25th and had a full feast for lunch. From the Mall of Emirates, we took the metro to the Burj Khalifa, since you have to buy tickets ahead of time we weren’t able to go up…but we had something better in mind for the evening. After walking around the Burj Khalifa (and even sneaking inside for a little bit) we walked over to the Dubai Mall to see the fountain show. It was 5 minutes long and had the Burj Khalifa in the background, it was so beautiful especially against the sunset. The Bellagio Fountains in Las Vegas blow me away more than this one did but it was still very cool to see. Afterwards, we headed back to the hotel and I made arrangements to have drinks at the top of the Burj Al Arab. I didn’t think we would actually be able to get a reservation on Christmas Eve but somehow it happened and it was one of the coolest things I’ve seen. The inside of the hotel is indescribable and it was well worth the $100 to enjoy good company, great drinks and awesome views. Next time I want to come during the day so the views are better. I thought nothing would beat that experience but the next day we got to celebrate Christmas in the winter wonderland inside the Mall of Emirates. We purchased the full experience which allowed us to touch and hangout with penguins (the best day of my life), ski, zip line, sled and so many other activities that we ran out of energy for. By the end of the day we were exhausted. We came back to the hotel and decided to order a movie to end Christmas night the right way. We ended up watching The Purge, which didn’t really go along with our festive mood at all, dumb idea but hilarious in retrospect.

Dubai gave me a much needed break, I hope the work-life balance becomes more manageable once the first few weeks are out of the way and more associates are coming in. I want to be able to enjoy Doha more and take it all in, I can’t wait to see what this city offers for New Years!


Float on!

-Rosh